Jersey brand

Marianne Vos claims ‘incredible’ eighth rainbow cyclocross jersey after fierce battle with Lucinda Brand

Marianne Vos won an eighth world cyclo-cross title after a hard fight against compatriot Lucinda Brand, only the sprint for the finish line could separate the pair and crown Vos world champion.

“It’s really amazing. You don’t often think back to your career towards a world championship. I really can’t believe it,” Vos said after his victory.

The 34-year-old knew she wouldn’t be able to let Brand down, so instead she took her time and waited patiently for the sprint, where she finally beat her rival.

“It was really very difficult. Lucinda is hard to beat and I knew it. She put pressure during the race and I tried. However, it was difficult to leave by car. So I had to stay calm and do the right things on the last lap and focus on the sprint.

>>> ‘I think doping might actually be more popular’: mixed reviews as Lance Armstrong enters the NFT game

Brand has dominated this season, heading into Worlds she had only managed to win three of 14 races since Nov. 27, and those three blemishes on an otherwise perfect record came from Vos.

Prior to Worlds, Vos had won the two previous races between the pair, the Dutch Nationals and the UCI World Cup in Hoogerheide, the latter being where Vos last donned the rainbow jersey. cyclocross sky eight years ago.

His world cyclocross titles now span 16 years, starting in 2006 before a six-win streak from 2009 to 2014, his eight cyclocross rainbow jerseys accompanying his three world road titles.

“Little has changed,” Vos said of the approach she’s taken over the years to keep winning the biggest races. “I’ve just continued on the same footing and trying to do the right things. I’m also getting a lot of support from my family and the team. I’m really, really grateful to be here now and to be here again. world champion .”


UCI Cyclocross World Championships – Women Elite

1. Marianne Vos (Ned), in 0-55-00
2. Lucinda Brand (Ned), one second away
3. Silvia Persico (Italy), at 51
4. Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado (Ned), at 1-04
5. Yara Kastelijn (Ned), at 1-05
6. Manon Bakker (Ned), at the same time
7. Maghalie Rochette (Can), at 1-39
8. Hélène Clauzel (Fra), at 1-59
9. Inge van der Heijden (Ned), at the same time
10. Sanne Cant (Bel), at 2-12